

Connecticut Health Insurance Exchange Health Plan Benefits and Qualifications Advisory Committee (HPBQ AC) Special Meeting

Remote Meeting

Thursday, May 5, 2022

<u>Members Present:</u> Grant Ritter (Chair); Theodore Doolittle; Commissioner Manisha Juthani, Department of Public Health (DPH); Tu Nguyen; Neil Kelsey; Mark Schaefer; Matthew Brokman; Jill Zorn; Paul Lombardo (Subject Matter Expert – SME)

<u>Other Participants:</u> Access Health CT (AHCT) Staff: James Michel; Charmaine Lawson; Susan Rich-Bye; Kelly Gavigan-Cote; Marcin Olechowski

Wakely Consulting: Julie Andrews Cecelia Woods

A. Call to Order

Chair Grant Ritter called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

Roll call for attendance was taken.

B. Public Comment

No public comment was submitted.

C. Vote

Chair Ritter requested a motion to approve the March 30, 2022 Health Plan Benefits and Qualifications Advisory Committee Special Meeting Minutes. Motion was made by Jill Zorn and was seconded by Theodore Doolittle. Roll call vote was ordered. Motion passed unanimously.

D. 2023 Individual Market Standard Plan Designs – Alternate Standard Silver CSR 73%.

Julie Andrews, Senior Actuary from Wakely Consulting, provided the Committee with a brief update on the need to amend the Alternate Standard Silver CSR 73%. Ms. Andrews stated that one of the carriers notified us that after the committee had approved its plan recommendations to the Board, it learned that it was not able to meet the Actuarial Value Calculator (AVC) requirements after additional calculations were performed. Ms. Andrews stated that the Board has approved an alternative plan pending the Committee's approval. Ms. Andrews added that federal regulations have been finalized as well as the Federal AVC.

Ms. Andrews presented an option for the Committee's consideration which would increase the medical deductible from \$4550 to \$4750.

Chair Grant Ritter requested a motion to recommend the alternate Standard Silver CSR 73% Option as presented by Wakely Consulting on behalf of Exchange staff as the Standard Silver CSR 73% Plan for Plan Year 2023. Motion was made by Manisha Juthani and seconded by Tu Nguyen. Brief discussion followed. Roll call vote was ordered. **Motion passed unanimously.**

E. Adjournment

Chair Grant Ritter requested a motion to adjourn. Motion was made by Mark Schaefer and was seconded by Jill Zorn. Roll call vote was ordered. **Motion passed unanimously.** Meeting adjourned at 1:07 p.m.